Wait, I’m actually working here?

You read that title correctly! As of Tuesday, Laura and I officially  began working at UFC! On Tuesday, we gave a lesson at one of the Casa de Cultura Britânica (CCB) classes on the American education system. Before I briefly tell you about the lesson, I want to give a big shout-out to Melanie, Maggie, and Kaitlyn. I don’t actually know if you’re reading my blog, but I 100% used info I learned from you all by listening to you talk about your education classes! So thanks! 🙂  Anyway, we gave a brief intro on how our school system is split (elementary, middle, and high school), public vs. private schools, and how to apply to college. We also briefly touched on college/university life, but I think we’re going to save that for a different lesson.

I have to admit that we didn’t really know how to go about preparing (sorry to Junior if you’re reading this too!), but I think it went really well! The students didn’t ask too many questions, but the teacher was totally into the topic AND it really showed that Laura and I are going to work well together.

Despite this mini-success on Tuesday, the big work-success of this week was the start of our conversation clubs! I’m running two clubs, one  intermediate and one advanced, for students who are studying “letras inglês” (that is to say, they’re studying to become English teachers). It was awesome! I had about 19 students in my lower level club and 20 in my upper level. And today, Friday I had even more! On Wednesday, we did one of my favorite mixers… the toilet paper game. For those who are unfamiliar, I told the students that we were going camping for two days + one night, and that they needed to take as much toilet paper as they thought they would need. They looked at me like I was crazy, but they did it! After every student has some TP, I told them that we weren’t actually going anywhere, but that they would need to get up and say one fact about themselves for each square of toilet paper.  The lower level students were a little more timid and only took 4-5 squares each, but my advanced students each took like 15-20! It was awesome!

Today, we did another fun game that I got from Laura. Each student wrote 3-5 questions (ranging from “What is your favorite food” to “If you could be a character in a book, who would you be” and including others like “when was your first kiss) on a sheet of paper. I then told them that, in DC and other parts of the U.S., we get a lot of snow in the winter. I explained that it’s awesome at first and that we often have snowball fights. So, once I yelled “SNOWBALL FIGHT,” they all crumpled up their paper and started throwing it! Once I yelled “stop,” they had to pick up a paper, find a partner, and start talking! It was a huge success. In fact, when the hour was up, they all wanted to keep going! I just hope the rest of the semester goes this well!

What else have I been up to? We went out on Friday to a little hole-in-the-wall bar (like pau brasil, if anyone form CIEE is reading this) with another one of the teachers from Inglês sem Fronteiras. We happened to meet up with some friends of his and ended up being out all night! Sorry Mom… Either way, it was fun to spend all night speaking portuguese (I almost feel like my Portuguese is getting worse because of how much English we’re speaking!) and I hope we see our new friends again!

In other, more important,  news, Laura and I officially rented an apartment! It’s in the neighborhood of Meireles, which is pretty chique (pronounced “chic-y”), and we’re moving in tomorrow! I can’t believe this is all really happening!

Pictures of the apartment to come as soon as we move in/have internet!

Also, for those of you who studied abroad in Brazil, Europe, or really anywhere in 2011/2012 and have a love-hate relationship with the song “Ai Se Eu Te Pego,” this is, in my opinion, 2014’s version! A grande musica do Carnaval 2014: Lepo Lepo. I hope you all love/hate this song as much as we do!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7U0p2lcmMA

Beijosssss

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wait, I’m actually working here?

  1. Monica says:

    Missy, que legal!!! Estou muito feliz por você!!! Parabéns pelas aulas! Adorei os jogos que vocês fizeram em sala. Demais! Qro te ver, hein? Sucesso aí. Bjos.

  2. Like Pau Brasil? Must have been fun! Glad to get the update! Beijos!

Leave a Reply

